The Beginning

I have been told by several people (friends and acquaintances) that I should start a blog. Not because I am particularly smart, of have some new and exciting take parenting, discipline, or home management. It has been suggested to me because of how my husband and I approach decision-making for our children. Specifically, will we give a prescription drug to our 5 year old or 7 year old? Will we give them the flu shot this year (since it changes every year)? Will we feed them some particular cereal? Or will I put this or that brand of sun screen on them this year when we are playing in the backyard? The answers to these questions vary, based on the ingredients in the items under review, and the scientific info I have access to (and sometimes expediency). I am not a PhD scientist like my husband, but I do take the time to read all the inserts in my kids medicines and look at the FDA website(s). I have even been known to read some of his Chemistry journals that are for the pros. I also read lots of books and do on-line research. So I am starting a blog. I hope that my research is helpful to some other parents out there. IF you disagree with my decisions, I will tell you the same thing I’ve told my pediatrician, “I am the one who will have a 16 year old or a 20 year old in my face asking me, ‘Mom, why on earth did you decide that!?’, and I will be the one that has to live with the consequences of my choices- good or bad long after you are out of the picture.”

 

So (readers) feel free to disagree, research, and add useful information that others can access for themselves. But please remember I will have to walk with my kiddos down our future path, so I reserve the right to my own opinions and choices- as should most every parent.

 

My plan has always been research issues as they come up, and make the best decisions I can, based on the info available and discussion with my dear husband. I am starting this blog to share some of what I have learned, and continue to learn, with other parents facing similar issues.

Leave a Reply

